Yale School of Nursing, Yale University's Graduate Nursing Programs

Yale School of Nursing

YSN Awarded "New Careers in Nursing Scholarship Program" Grants

June 22, 2012


The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) has announced that Yale University School of Nursing (YSN) is one of 55 schools to be part of the New Careers in Nursing Scholarship Program (NCIN) for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Schools receiving grants through NCIN provide scholarships directly to students from groups underrepresented in nursing or from economically disadvantaged backgrounds. Students who receive the NCIN scholarships—in the amount of $10,000 each—have already earned a bachelor’s degree in another field and are making a career switch to nursing through accelerated nursing degree programs.

“We need a well-educated, diverse nursing workforce to provide quality care for our changing patient population,” said David Krol, MD, MPH, FAAP, program officer for NCIN, RWJF senior program officer, and team director of the RWJF Human Capital portfolio. “NCIN is strengthening nursing education and helping to fill the pipeline with capable, culturally competent nurses.”

“I am simply delighted that YSN has been selected as a recipient of a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation New Careers in Nursing grant,” commented Linda Honan Pellico, PhD, MSN, CNS-BC, RN, YSN Associate Professor and director of YSN’s Graduate Entry Prespecialty in Nursing (GEPN) program. “We have increased capacity in our accelerated masters-entry program in order to prepare for the rising demand for advanced practice nurses nationally.”

Within the grant, all schools are required to maintain a mentoring program for their scholars to help them meet the demands of an accelerated degree program. 

“We have selected five deserving students and are anxiously awaiting their arrival so they can be groomed to be New Careers in Nursing scholars and exemplary APRNs,” added Dr. Pellico. The five YSN NCIN scholars are Chris Andreozzi ’15, Kirsten Kowalski-Lane ’15, Orly Ninyo ’15, Lorne Harris ’15, and Devyn Young ’15. 


YSN RWJF Scholars 2012

(L-R) Devyn Young, Lorne Harris, Chris Andreozzi, Kirsten Kowalski-Lane, and Orly Ninyo.