Yale School of Nursing, Yale University's Graduate Nursing Programs

Yale School of Nursing

YSN Faculty Receive 2013 Nightingale Awards from VNA

June 3, 2013

Marty Swartz, PhD, RN, CPNP, FAAN, and Marge Funk, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN, were honored with a Nightingale Award for Excellence in Nursing, a program originally developed by the Visiting Nurse Association of South Central Connecticut (VNA/SCC) to be a collaborative effort to celebrate outstanding nurses and elevate the nursing profession. The event was held on May 13 at Anthony’s Ocean Front in New Haven.

Swartz Nightingale 2013

The goals of the Nightingale Award program are to encourage retention, inspire future nurses, focus public attention and recognize the breadth and scope of nursing practice at the local level.

Dr. Swartz is associate dean for clinical and community affairs and professor in the pediatric nurse practitioner specialty in the master’s program at Yale School of Nursing. She currently holds a joint appointment as a pediatric nurse practitioner at Yale-New Haven Hospital Pediatric Primary Care Center. With a master’s degree in parent-child nursing from the University of Michigan, and a doctorate from the University of Connecticut, Swartz’s scholarly areas of interest include primary care of the newborn and preterm infant, interactions between adolescent parents and their children, and the relationship between family functioning and health related quality of life in children with asthma.

Funk Nightingale 2013

Dr. Funk has been on the faculty at Yale School of Nursing since 1984. She received a BA in religion from Wheaton College in Massachusetts, a BSN from Cornell University – New York Hospital School of Nursing, a MSN in Medical-Surgical Nursing, and a PhD in Chronic Disease Epidemiology from Yale University. Funk’s research focuses on the wise use of technology in the care of critically ill patients with heart disease. She is also the Principal Investigator of the PULSE Trial, which evaluates the effect of implementing American Heart Association/AACN practice standards for ECG monitoring on nurses’ knowledge, quality of care and patient outcomes.

In a related story, YSN student Suzanne Clarke Allen ’13 received the 2013 Nightingale Scholarship. Allen was one of five local nursing students who were honored with a $1,200 scholarship.

The Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing are non-competitive and inclusive of all health care settings - hospitals, home health care, health centers, schools, health departments, long-term care facilities, nursing schools, agencies, and medical practices. Their employers may nominate Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, Advanced Practice Registered Nurses and Nurse Practitioners who demonstrate excellence for recognition if they are involved in clinical practice, leadership, scholarship, and/or education.

To learn more about nominating a nurse, visit www.nightingalenursingawards.org/newhaven.