Sigma Theta Tau International, Delta Mu Chapter

The purpose of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), National Honor Society of Nursing, is to recognize superior achievement, the development of leadership qualities, foster high professional standards, encourage creative work, and strengthen commitment to the ideas and purpose of the profession. The YSN Delta Mu Chapter of STTI was chartered in 1980 and currently has more than 500 members.

Why Join Sigma Theta Tau, Delta Mu Chapter?

  • Mentoring by exceptional leaders in nursing

  • Eligibility for research and project grants (each year Delta Mu awards over $5,000 for research and clinical projects)

  • Access to on-line education and research through the STTI website

  • Access to an international network of nurses involved in community service, and research

  • Free access to STTI’s research journal, the Journal of Nursing Scholarship

Eligibility for Membership

Delta Mu encourages students and nurses from the community to consider joining STTI. Below are eligibility requirements:

  • Students must have completed a minimum of one-quarter of the required graduate curriculum with a grade point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated leadership ability.

  • A nurse leader, who is a registered nurse, legally recognized to practice in his/her country with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent in any field, and who has demonstrated achievement in nursing, shall be eligible for membership.

  • GEPN: finished at least 50% of program with a 3.0 or higher and rank within the top 35% of the class.

  • Graduate: finished at least 25% of program with a 3.5 or higher in MSN curriculum.

Transfer Membership

For information regarding transfer of chapter membership, visit, call (888) 634-7575, or email

Joining Delta Mu

In order to be considered for membership, students must meet the minimal requirement. Beginning in 2015, students will be directly invited to join STTI rather than completing an application. This invitation will be based on academic requirements and the potential for scholarly work. Any student may also apply as a nurse leader.

Nurse leaders are also encouraged to apply. The application can be downloaded here and emailed to David Depukat. Please do not mail to STTI. If you cannot scan a completed copy, please email David. Any member of the leadership team is available to answer questions about membership.

Delta Mu Board

David Depukat, President
Deborah Fahs, Vice President
Joanne Iennacco, Treasurer
Monica Roosa Ordway, Research Chair
Melanie McCloskey, Secretary
Linda Honan, Faculty Advisor
Tracy Chidsey, Coordinator

Research Grants, Clinical Project and Student Project Funds

The Delta Mu Chapter of STTl is proud to announce funding for clinical projects and research conducted by its members. The maximum amounts to be awarded are $1,500 for a research or clinical project and $1,000 for a student project. The project leader must be a member of the Delta Mu Chapter.