Congratulations to Three New YSN FAANs

August 28, 2020

Yale School of Nursing (YSN) is thrilled to congratulate the new class of distinguished Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing (FAAN). This year’s class of 230 nurse leaders includes three YSN affiliates: Beth Beckman DNSc, FAAN associate dean for partnerships at YSN; associate professor of nursing Marianne J. Davies, ’87 MSN, ’00 PMC, DNP, RN, APRN, CNS-BC, ACNP-BC, AOCNP, FAAN; and Joan Kearney, PhD, APRN, FAAN, Chair of the Doctor of Nursing Practice program and associate professor of nursing.

“It is especially significant to honor the contributions of these outstanding nurse leaders during the Year of the Nurse and Midwife,” said Dean Ann Kurth ’90 MSN, PhD, CNM, MPH, FAAN. “The YSN community is privileged to draw on their combined decades of expertise and innovation, and we salute this momentous achievement.”

Fellows are selected through a rigorous competitive process, and new Fellows are chosen annually based on their contributions to the advancement of the public’s health. Induction is a significant milestone in a nurse leader’s career, marking the esteem and regard of their peers within the profession. 

The newest Fellows represents 39 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. territory of Guam, and 13 countries. The Academy is currently comprised of more than 2,700 nursing leaders who are experts in policy, research, administration, practice, and academia who champion health and wellness, locally and globally. 

The inductees will be recognized at the Academy’s annual Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference, taking place virtually October 29-31.