Delta Mu Welcomes New Members of Nursing Honor Society

June 2, 2021

New York Times Opinion video journalist Alexander Battu Stockton saluted the newest members of the Delta Mu chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau International nursing honor society during a virtual ceremony on May 18. Stocktons short film “Death, Through a Nurse’s Eyes,” chronicles ICU nurses in Phoenix, AZ in January, when the state had the highest rates of COVID-19 in the world. 

“I wanted to shine a light on this burden they bear,” Stockton said. “I don’t think people truly understand what it is that nurses have gone through.”

Stockton’s film has garnered more than 5 million views.

Stockton praised nurses for the thousand acts of kindness he witnessed in just those few days and for always returning to fight a Sisyphean battle during the ongoing pandemic. “For all the horror and tragedy Ive seen in reporting on the pandemic,” he said, “what I will remember most is the heroism, the empathy, and kindness exhibited by nurses.”

Other speakers included Sigma Theta Tau president Richard Ricciardo, PhD, FAANP, FAAN and chapter president Andrée de Lisser ’79 MSN, DNP, APRN, PMHCNS-BC.

de Lisser remarked that while the appreciation for the profession during the pandemic is welcome, it leaves out a greater context.

“What we don’t validate enough is how truly difficult it is to do this work,” she said. “How lonely it can feel when others outside of it can’t grasp the intensity, the intimacy, the urgency of what we experience, the relationships we forge and navigate, the frustrations—and yes, the joys—of what we witness every day. Clearly COVID, and Alex’s moving film have validated that. Your honor society should and will validate that for you.”

And there was more to celebrate. Linda Ghampson, MSN, RN, presented the Dorothy Sexton Mentorship Award to Director of the new Clinical Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program Joanne Iennaco, ’05 MPhil, ’09 PhD, APRN, PMHNP-BC. The distinction has been awarded since 2004 and honors a recipient for their self-knowledge, strategic vision, risk-taking and creativity, interpersonal and communication effectiveness, and inspiration.

Congratulations to all of the new members:


Michael Dustin Bass

Caryl Behmoiras

Melia Bernal

Claude Bonnet

Emily Borland

Elyse Sharon Borsuk

Tess Brickley

Emily Brown

Emma Shoshana Brown

Bernadette Cameron

Meredith Campbell

Paula Constantine

Lisa Czaplinski

Nicole Devaney

Kathy Doan

Patricia Dowley

Eva Dunder

Christina Dykas

Elisabeth Farmer

Hannah W. Frankel

Kristen Fuller


Josephine Garcesa-Duque

Valerie Garcia

Stefanie Generao

Anisha Gill

Leoncia Kaye Gillespie

Elizabeth Abigail Grant

Sydney Greenberg

Jonathan Michael Harper

Lindsey Harrigan

Yonatan Hochstein

Emily Houston

Kierra Jackson

Jenilee Jaquez

Chloe Kiester

Corina Kirwin

Josh Korb

MaryEllen Hope Kosturko

Andrea Lewis

Lauren Lewis

Dana Joy Tze En Loo

Sarah Anne Lovell

Janice Lu

Jacqueline Ly


Raji Maddela

Victor Manuel Martinez Garcia

Amy Martone

Mindy Marie Matthews

Leah Mattiaccio

Timothy Sullivan McGehee

Nicole Messina

Lena Mininberg

Briana Mitchell

Marian Montano

Cyma Mounzer

Riana Lynn Nicolaysen

Kristen Nocka

Ali Olson

Ruby Parris

Dalia Pena-Solorzano

Haley Pleskow

Abby Pringle

Ellie Anne Reck

Allysa Reimer

Kevin Richardson

Jonathan Roberts

Marina Rosenberg


Rachel Lynn Sanacora

Kirsten Scharer

Ashley Shaver

Neelu Shruti

Amy Smith

Rachel Smolskis

Charlotte Sperling

Olivia Stillman

Sophia Tollefson

Skylar Van Steemburg

Christopher Vargas

Ben Venter

Luis Vera

Max Vieira

Shiliu Wang

Emma Watkins

Helen Marie Watson

Sarah Weas

Renee White

Valerie Williams

Sarah Zoubaa